Thursday, January 31, 2013

Day 8.

I woke without a headache again. I have been sleeping well. Waking to pee, then going back to sleep. Could it be good that I don't have much in my stomach? Could that be it? Or is it something else?

I also have not had the sharp pains in my hip that have been plaguing me. I am headed for a hip replacement in late March or early April. I am not free of pain, but lately free of those little sharp pains. I am thinking that the foods I have been drinking are anti-inflammatory, or at least not inflammatory. Might be good to look that up again. I have a whole book on foods that fight pain.

I expect that those who are starting from a SAD position might notice a whole lot of changes by Day 8. That would encourage them to continue. I can't say it does that for me because I still want to eat something right now. But I am continuing. Yesterday I laid in another $40 worth of fruits and vegetables. So far $160. If I eat all of that by Day 10, then it will have cost me $16 a day to do this. Not the cheapest way to eat.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Craving: the sequel

Tonight my partner, my daughter, dropped out. She sent me a text that read, "Let's eat!" and then called me to suggest that ten days is just too long; she felt weak. I think she just hasn't been eating - drinking- enough. She has not had the time to run the juicer, make a big batch of juice, bring enough with her to work. In any case, rather than try to get her to continue I accepted her situation. Yes, ten days is long. And no, there isn't anything really important that is going to come of this. For me at least there is an additional incentive: the opportunity to talk about it at the potluck this coming Sunday.

Craving. If I had any idea that doing this fast would reduce my cravings I was wrong. I am a person who binges, and sometimes those binges can last for months. In my case, I don't mean I eat everything in sight every day but I do give in to these cravings, especially in the evenings, for foods that are not good for me. While doing this juicing I only make more juice when I feel a craving come on. No problem during these ten days. But I will have to fight the crave when I'm off the juice.

Day 7.

Making it.  The end is in sight.



Dr. McDougall and others say that we need a lot less protein than "conventional wisdom" says. I am getting protein mainly from the veggies that I juice, and I toss back a LOT of some of them.  Even the carrots, not a big star in protein, will do the job in large quantities. One gram of protein per carrot, average. I drink perhaps two dozen carrots a day, or 24 grams of protein. That's not nothing. One sweet potato has about two grams of protein. Broccoli is the star - 4 grams per cup - but I haven't got any broccoli right now.

I still crave something to chew.

I have thought of one more thing I can use the veg pulp for: add to cat food. One of my cats has constipation issues so I have been adding a small amount of pumpkin or other winter squash to the food. Seems I could steam the pulp and add that instead.

I woke with another small headache. It went away without my taking any acetaminophen. Low blood sugar? High? More likely low. I am getting a lot of sugar in the fruits and vegs I juice but the total amount is pretty low, I suspect.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Craving

It is the end of a long day. I was away from home today and not near any juicers so I didn't have a lot of juice during the day. When I got home I fixed myself something quick - orange, grapefruit, pear - and drank it while watching a television show. On that show the characters were ordering Chinese food take-out. Now, normally I am not all that tempted by Chinese food because its American version is high in fat and not very high in flavor, as a rule. However, it is now all that I want. I want to call a Chinese restaurant and order take-out.

I took a CPR and First Aid class today. It was listed as three hours but actually turned out to be a six-hour class (miscommunication somewhere along the line). I was not prepared for that. For our lunch break, I went to the nearby gym, where they have a smoothie bar, and asked if they had any fresh-squeezed juices. No. I settled for a large glass of bottled orange juice, and not particularly good juice at that (not even talking about the pasteurization).  I brought it back with me to the class to drink while the instructor continued the class (this was our way of shortening the total length of the class).

Most of the others got food from a nearby fast-food joint: fried things. Brown and brown. What kinda made me laugh is that this just didn't seem like food at all to me. Don't get me wrong: I like a good french fry. But to call it lunch? Along with something that is dipped in batter and then fried?

I know. I am sounding holier than thou. I think this juicing thing has that effect.


Day 6

Passed the half-way point. I can definitely do this. As can my daughter Mary, who is doing this with me (in her own house)!

Yesterday I woke with another small headache. Today I did not. Perhaps there are changes going on. Or not.

I enjoyed some juices with sweet potato in them yesterday. I think substantial foods like that make me feel fuller, even if only the juice. I also cleaned out my refrigerator:

At this point I have juiced beets, carrots, oranges, apples, cabbage, beet greens, spinach, grapefruit, lemon, ginger, sweet potato, watermelon, grapes, kale. I think that's it. I have not done a lot with the leafy greens. It seems like not much comes out of them. But I am trying to add more in now.

I feel good. It feels like my energy level is still up, relatively speaking. And my output is down, as you'd expect. Mostly liquid. I suspect this is what makes a lot of people think they have "detoxed", gotten rid of poisons, and so on. It's easy to imagine that some things get stuck on the colon walls and that juicing washes them out. It's a familiar picture; that is, we have all washed dishes that had food stuck on them. I doubt this takes place in our colons, however. For many people, just having the food move through quickly must be a novelty. As I do eat a lot of whole fresh plant foods, it isn't new to me.

Today I am taking a CPR class, from 11 to 2. I will bring a thermos with some kind of juice in it as a snack. I am thinking about taking a walk. Maybe after the class. A hike, even.

Monday, January 28, 2013

Day 5!

Almost half-way there! My mind boggles to think of doing this for 30 days. If I felt it would really make a difference for me, though, then I could see it. If I were very much heavier than I am and sick, for example.

I consider myself an expert on my particular juicer now. Not that it wasn't easy out of the box, but I have made mistakes. A couple of times I started the juicer without putting the pulp container in place. The kitchen counter and I got splattered with bits of food. Another time I didn't line up the top piece properly so there were leaks and when I started it bits of food and juice were leaking all over. I stopped that one quickly and reconfigured. It is a simple machine, basically, so there are no closures that ensure you've done it right, except for the metal bar that clicks in place.

I have learned to process vegs first, then bag the pulp, then add the fruits. I freeze the veg pulp. I'm getting a little collection of freezer bags in there that I plan to use in beans and soups and even breads, and who knows what else. Oh yes, and vegetable broth. I look forward to making vegetable broth with my pressure cooker.

It may seem obvious but I figured out that it goes faster if I put in one piece (or however many fit), push it a little way, then add another piece, and so on. The booklet says slower is better so I try to push slowly.

Still feeling fine. My eyes, which had some sort of allergic reaction when I started this fast (I was a little sick, nothing major), are fine now. I washed them with salt water one morning and that's all I have done.

I do seem to have more energy. In my case, this translates to getting up and doing things around the house. Washing clothes, making the bed, cleaning the floor, taking trash out. I am at rock-bottom lazy and I have to fight it, and right now it seems pretty easy to do at least these small things without feeling tired or hurting.

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Day 4

I woke with a slight headache. I took some acetaminophen and it went away. Sometimes I get headaches from not eating. I have certainly been eating. Drinking. It may have nothing to do with that.

This morning I decided to make a big batch of juice as a go-to for snacks during the day. I went with a tried-and-true: carrot and orange. Except I expanded the orange to include pink grapefruit and clementines as well:


I went through the carrots first, and bagged and froze the pulp from them. Then I added the citrus. The total slightly overran the pitcher that comes with the juicer. I wasn't quick enough to see that it was leaking from the hole where the juicer shoots it in. Not a lot of loss, anyway. I filled a lidded container with the juice and put it in the fridge:


The rest I drank. Nice. I will still experiment with different mixtures during the day but at least I have something I can grab when I just want a bit of something. 

I feel fine. I don't know if I feel better or worse than when I started. Let's just see how the day goes.

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Getting creative

Tonight I had a carrot soup (carrots, celery, onion, ginger, a bit of kale - juiced and then heated with a bit of pulp added back in for thickening) and a cantaloupe, asian pear, apple juice and lemon spritzer. It was almost like a regular meal. It takes a lot of juice to get a lot of calories so I keep at it, juicing and cleaning up, juicing and cleaning up. And coming up with new combinations and ways to drink juice.

I'd love a glass of wine right now.

Or just a large bowl of steamed spinach or broccoli.

My stomach feels hungry but the feeling is also a bit like what it starts to feel like when it is being bothered. I am wondering: too much acid? After all, I am throwing a lot of citrus in there, and other fruits that are acid as well. Actually no. All fruit and vegetable juices are highly alkaline. Funny. Seems counterintuitive. But there's acid and there's acid. So I am not getting too much acid. Maybe it is just hunger. Considering the lack of grains and concentrated protein it makes sense.

Day 3!

Such waste! I don't have a composter and right now I don't want to spend extra time making the pulp into crackers or breads, and combination fruit-veg pulp isn't what I want for a soup thickener, so most of the pulp goes down the garbage disposal. I can be glad, at least, that sewage is used as part of fertilizer for non-food plants (too many difficulties in filtering out impurities, particularly heavy metals, to use for food growing).

Yesterday I made a "green soup". I juiced a whole bunch of spinach, carrots, garlic, celery, some other things, and heated the soup. I wanted something different, and having it hot felt good to me. However, I was in too much of a hurry with the pulp, washed it down the drain too quickly. It would have been great to use a part of it in the soup and I could have frozen the rest. Excellent for broth. I will remember next time.

I'm feeling fine. Not dying from lack of protein, for example. Fruits have little protein but veggies have more. I haven't been juicing enough of those veggies. Need to step it up.

I have been developing some habits. From the start, I have washed the juicer parts immediately after juicing. Leaving them would make cleanup much harder. Fortunately, this juicer (Breville's Juice Fountain) is easy to take apart, clean, and put back together. Harder than a blender but easier than the more complex juicers.

I use a cutting board and a waste bag, putting the peelings into the bag right away. I worry about flies and want to minimize any chance that they can feed on that waste. For the same reason, I clean up the counters right after juicing as well. I know. Most people do this sort of thing regularly. My habits aren't as good as they could be.

As I prepare the foods for juicing, I put them in a largish salad bowl. I saw this on a blog recently and it makes a lot of sense. These habits make me feel good, like I am making some sort of progress.

I am also getting a bit more adventurous. Yesterday I saw some recipes using sweet potatoes and I made a variation of them. The recipes called for sprinkling cinnamon on top afterwards, an idea whose time has come. This morning I charged into the kitchen and just grabbed things I thought would go together - cantaloupe, peaches, lemon, orange - prepared them and rammed them on through. I piled the fruits on top of each other, and when I had pushed some through I added more to fill it up again. A bit more efficient, I think.

Bathroom trips are frequent, as expected. I don't know that they are actually more frequent than usual for me, but they are a bit looser and often carrot-colored. It's a good thing I'm the only one who reads this blog.

Friday, January 25, 2013

Day 2

Second day of juice fast. I crave steamed spinach. Broccoli, steamed. Stuff to chew. It is not fun to go out and see all the food out there!

I started out sick, yesterday. I got sick Tuesday night, spent Wednesday mostly in bed. Yesterday I was still sick but a little better. I am much better now, just have a few histamine issues. My hands were very itchy Tuesday night and I scratched the hell out of them, making them super-sensitive to heat. They felt burned. I have taken a generic Allegra to reduce the histamines and it has helped a lot. My eyes, though, are scratchy. I rinsed them in warm salt water this morning and I will do so again soon.

After physical therapy (I am trying to get both knees straight - I had knee surgery in 2011 - yeah, over a year ago) this morning, I went to Jamba Juice and had a 16-oz. Orange Carrot juice. Yummy. Of course I could make that at home but I was out of carrots and very hungry. Sixteen ounces is a lot, but it wasn't a lot of calories - 180.  I then bought some vegetables that I forgot to get yesterday, including two large bags of carrots. Where all this is going to fit in my fridge is still a mystery. I suppose if I actually cleaned the thing out there would be no problem.

Still hungry. I am poring over some recipes now. There is one that calls for a sweet potato that seems promising.

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Juice Fast! Me??

Yes, I'm doing a juice fast. I'm no believer in juice fasts. I do not believe in "detoxing", nor do I think that squeezing the pulp from veggies and fruit is a good thing. Nevertheless, I am doing this fast as a way to kickstart some more weight loss. I ballooned up to over 250 and have managed to bring it down to 243 (actually 242.5, according to my scale this morning), and now I want to make another push.

So this is day one of a ten-day juice fast. I am starting it not entirely in the dark but not all that well-prepared either. I know I need to get more veggies into these drinks (something I normally don't feel a need to do, because I eat tons of veggies just plain, on their own, raw or lightly steamed). Today was mostly fruits: apples, oranges, grapes, watermelon, strawberries, grapefruit, some carrots and ginger and a little spinach. When I went shopping this morning I neglected to lay in more carrots and some beets, celery, pineapple, and tomatoes. I think those will carry me along nicely. I have plenty of green for now, kale and cabbage and spinach.

I feel hungry. Naturally. I am not eating any grains, which help with hunger more than fruits and vegs on their own do. This, of course, is why I expect to lose weight. But I have nothing against grains. I just want to get that kickstart, then add in the healthy whole-foods veggies and grains, which I expect I will love even more than usual.

I watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead at the beginning of this month. That guy went 30 days on his fast, and so did another person he met on his journey. I applaud them. I feel, though, that I am not as desperate as they were. I am not trying to get rid of a disease and I have been eating healthily enough for a while, so I don't expect results quite as dramatic. Just a jump below 240, say...

Time to fix me another drink.